h1

Herds of deer and mountain hares

May 14, 2010

Back in March, I climbed my first two Munros.  Since then, I have climbed six more.  After Munro five, my Munro map got promoted from bookshelf to wall.  After Munro eight, I became a member of munromagic.com and started my own log.  I think the log is akin to the spreadsheet I previously identified as the one step I needed to take before becoming a Munro obsessive.  I think I have become that obsessive.

But, now I have discovered that padded heel grips stop me from getting blisters, I’m loving every minute of it.  I have found my legs to be stronger than I thought they were and that I’m much fitter than I was when I started this game (Stob Coire Easain and Stob a’ Choire Mheadhoin). I have seen a whole heard of deer galloping across the mountainside and learned how important a compass is when the mountain has its head in a cloud (Geal Charn).  And I have seen agile mountain hares, in the midst of their colour change from winter white to summer brown, hopping across the snow and then hiding behind tufts of grass so that only their ears show (Carn a’ Gheoidh).

I love that each Munro is so different from the last. I love the feeling of achievement when you reach the summit and admire the view (assuming there is a view).  I love the feeling of impatience on the way down, the feeling that you can’t wait to start climbing the next one.  And I love that there are enough ‘next ones’ to keep me going for many years to come.

One comment

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv



Leave a Reply

